The Atlas Book Club

/shrug

New Beginning

I am trying to get this going again. So if you received your invitation and are reading this, great! Please post in the comment section if you are willing to join. Once I know who is interested I will prepare the schedule and we can get reading. I really had a lot of fun the last time we did this and hope that it can be even better this time. Talk to you soon.

If you are completely new to the club, here is a quick explanation of the site and how to use it.

Read the code. This is our charter and will explain how things work. Then go to schedule to see when you are responsible for the book choice this year. We only read one book a month so don’t get flustered. Then I suggest you check out the “This Month” page for the current month, as well as “Daily Poetry” and whatever else you are in the mood for. It should be simple. Enjoy!

April 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

21 Comments »

  1. I’m in for it–however, I just checked out two books from the library that I’ve been dying to read for months. They’re both parts of series, and they’re in high demand so I need to get them read before they come due…so, in short, I’ll have to see how quickly I can read them before committing to anything in May.

    Comment by Ben | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Maybe you should pick the book in May.

    Comment by urhamlet | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m in and as long as Mark can get the book on Audible then he’ll probably be in also.

    Comment by Mark & Aup | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m in, assuming Ben doesn’t ruin everything first.

    Comment by Jake | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  5. I think it would be better if someone else picked this month. I’ll do my darnedest to get it read.

    Comment by Ben | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’m in. As I said eleswhere on this website (somewhere) I have been reading a lot of feminist stuff recently, so watch out, men. 🙂

    Comment by mirandablaine | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  7. Feminist stuff is not healthy for you. Stick to good literature and your genre (sciene fiction). It wil be more helpful to your writing. Plus I know where you live.

    Comment by urhamlet | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  8. Oh, also, I wouldn’t mind being put lower on the list, so someone else has a chance to pick a book. I think I picked the first one last time.

    Comment by Ben | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  9. Here’s my selection, a book my wife’s been telling me I’d like: The Road, by Cormac McCarthy. Should be easy to find because it was an Oprah Book Club selection a few years back, I believe.

    A description from Publishers Weekly:

    Starred Review. Violence, in McCarthy’s postapocalyptic tour de force, has been visited worldwide in the form of a “long shear of light and then a series of low concussions” that leaves cities and forests burned, birds and fish dead and the earth shrouded in gray clouds of ash. In this landscape, an unnamed man and his young son journey down a road to get to the sea. (The man’s wife, who gave birth to the boy after calamity struck, has killed herself.) They carry blankets and scavenged food in a shopping cart, and the man is armed with a revolver loaded with his last two bullets. Beyond the ever-present possibility of starvation lies the threat of roving bands of cannibalistic thugs. The man assures the boy that the two of them are “good guys,” but from the way his father treats other stray survivors the boy sees that his father has turned into an amoral survivalist, tenuously attached to the morality of the past by his fierce love for his son. McCarthy establishes himself here as the closest thing in American literature to an Old Testament prophet, trolling the blackest registers of human emotion to create a haunting and grim novel about civilization’s slow death after the power goes out.

    Comment by Jake | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  10. That’s perfect, I’ve had that book for a year now but just haven’t made the time to read it, so this will be perfect for me!

    Comment by Mark & Aup | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  11. That’s an interesting coincidence. A coworker of mine was just telling me about that book a couple of days ago, and I was so intrigued about it that I asked her to bring it so I could take a look. She just brought to work today.

    Comment by Ben | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  12. I’m in! Your selection sounds interesting, Jake.

    Comment by Missy | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  13. It’s clear to me, Ben, that God wants you to read this book. And by “God” I mean “Oprah.”

    Comment by Jake | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  14. “Blackest registers of human emotion” Huh, I like to think people give Sacrament meeting talks that they need to hear, what does that mean about the choice of book club book?

    Comment by Quarto | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  15. BLACK REGISTERS OF HUMAN EMOTION ROCK!

    Comment by Jake | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  16. While we’re at it, I’ve picked the book for June. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy

    In 1792, during the French Revolution’s Reign of Terror, an English aristocrat known to be an ineffectual fop is actually a master of disguises who, with a small band of dedicated friends, undertakes dangerous missions to save members of the French nobility from the guillotine. Arguably the best adventure story ever published and certainly the most influential that appeared during the early decades of the twentieth century.

    I don’t know for sure, but I bet Oprah’s read this one too…:)

    Comment by mirandablaine | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  17. Miranda, before reading, I would like to know the color and quantity of human emotion registers, and I will need written confirmation from Oprah or a duly-authorized, bonded, licensed, and insured prophet of God that at he or she endorses this book. Note that I will disregard any response containing a combination of the following words: “sink,” “me.”

    Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

    Comment by Jake | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  18. So I’m just starting The Road today. Do you guys think I’ll be able to finish it by the end of the month? How long is it?

    Comment by Ben | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  19. You’ll be able to finish it. And if you aren’t already flirting with the idea of suicide, then you will be by the end of the month. I read the first 30 pages, told Sterling that it wasn’t safe for me to be reading something so sad, and yet still want to know how it ends (even though I KNOW how it’s gonna end).

    Comment by Quarto | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  20. The wretched state of humanity. The hungry and the dead. A graveyard of skeletons milling about. Ash and snow. Grey everywhere. The road a serpentine path beneath their feet. A ragged collection of sentence fragments. Unending.

    Comment by Mars | May 13, 2009 | Reply

  21. This is actually ade who doesnt want to change users. I have decided that lazy punctuation wont hinder my chances of being a serious writer. Wish my 3rd grade teacher hadnt wasted so much time teaching me about apostrophes.

    Comment by urhamlet | May 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

